U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Skip Header

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, July 13, 2022

Census Bureau Appoints Eight New Members to National Advisory Committee

Press Release Number CB22-TPS.64

JULY 13, 2022 — The U.S. Census Bureau today announced the appointment of eight new members to its National Advisory Committee (NAC). The NAC considers topics such as hard-to- reach populations, race and ethnicity, language, aging populations, American Indian and Alaska Native tribal considerations, new immigrant populations, populations affected by natural disasters, highly mobile and migrant populations, complex households, rural populations, and population segments with limited access to technology. The Committee also advises on data privacy and confidentiality, among other issues.

The new NAC members are:

  • Dana Watters, program director, Local Democracy Initiative, National League of Cities.
  • Jeanine Abrams McLean, president, Fair Count.
  • Zhenchao Qian, associate director, Population Studies and Training Center, Brown University.
  • Suzanne Thornton, assistant professor of statistics, Swarthmore College.
  • Arloc Sherman, senior researcher, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities.
  • Alexis Santos, assistant professor of human development and family studies, Pennsylvania State University.
  • Miguel Marino, associate professor, Oregon Health and Science University.
  • Filiz Garip, professor of sociology and public affairs, Princeton University.

Visit our Census Advisory Committees page for more information and bios of all NAC members. No news release associated with this announcement. Tip sheet only.



Julie Iriondo
Public Information Office
301-763-3030 or
877-861-2010 (U.S. and Canada only)

Page Last Revised - July 13, 2022
Is this page helpful?
Thumbs Up Image Yes Thumbs Down Image No
255 characters maximum 255 characters maximum reached
Thank you for your feedback.
Comments or suggestions?


Back to Header