U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Skip Header

1970 Census: Population, Population of Standard Metropolitan Statistical Areas Established Since the 1970 Census, for the United States


The tables presented here are compiled from data presented in the Final State reports PC(1)·B, General Population Characteristics. This report presents population data for 21 standard metropolitan statistical areas (SMSA's) established between November 1971 and January 1972 by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Federal agency responsible for defining SMSA's. In November 1971, the OMB issued a revised set of criteria for determining metropolitan status and, as a result, 21 new SMSA's were designated on the basis of data from the 1970 Census. The total number of SMSA's currently recognized in the United States is 264. The 21 new SMSA's contain 30 central cities. In addition, 9 other cities within previously designated metropolitan areas have also been given central city status. The total number of central cities in the United States is now 346.

A Note on Language

Census statistics date back to 1790 and reflect the growth and change of the United States. Past census reports contain some terms that today’s readers may consider obsolete and inappropriate. As part of our goal to be open and transparent with the public, we are improving access to all Census Bureau original publications and statistics, which serve as a guide to the nation's history.

Page Last Revised - October 8, 2021
Is this page helpful?
Thumbs Up Image Yes Thumbs Down Image No
255 characters maximum 255 characters maximum reached
Thank you for your feedback.
Comments or suggestions?


Back to Header